Turriano ICOHTEC Prize

The Turriano ICOHTEC Prize is an Early Career Prize for Books on the history of technology, sponsored by the Juanelo Turriano Foundation and consists of 2,500 Euro. The prize-winning book will be presented and discussed at a special session of the next ICOHTEC symposium, in Eindhoven, The Netherlands, from 13-17 July 2020 (http://www.icohtec.org/w-annual-meeting/katowice-2019/). An additional 500 Euro is available to the winner in support of travelling to the conference to receive the prize. ICOHTEC, the International Committee for the History of Technology, is interested in the history of technology, focusing on technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. The history of technology covers all periods of human history and all populated areas. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

Eligible for the prize are original book-length works in any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish) in the history of technology: published or unpublished Ph.D. dissertations or other monographs written by scholars in the early parts of their career. Articles and edited anthologies are not eligible. If the work is a Ph.D. thesis, it should have been accepted by your university in 2018 or 2019; if it is a published work, the year of publication should be 2018 or 2019.

For the ICOHTEC Prize 2020, please send an electronic copy (PDF or Word) of the work you wish to be considered for the prize to each of the four Prize Committee members. (Note: Hard copies are only accepted for published works not available electronically.) Your submission must be emailed no later than Friday, 1 February 2020. Please also include an abstract of no more than a half-page in length. If your book is in Spanish or Russian, please also supply a summary in English, French or German of about 4,500 words. In that case, the prize committee will find additional members, who are familiar with the language in which your book is written.

The submission should be accompanied by a CV (indicating also the date of birth) and, if applicable, a list of publications. Applicants are free to add references or reviews of the work submitted.

Any materials sent to the prize committee will not be returned.
Send a complete application by email to each of the following Prize Committee members:

Prof. Ernst Homburg , Prize Committee Chairperson  
Maastricht University
Department of History
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
P.O. Box 616
6200 MD Maastricht
The Netherlands                                                                                     e.homburg@maastrichtuniversity.nl
Dr. Irina Gouzevitch
Centre Maurice Halbwachs
École Normale Supérieure
48, boulevard Jourdan
75014 Paris

Prof. Per Lundin
Chalmers University of Technology
Div. of Science, Technology and Society
Dept. of Technology Management and Economics
SE – 412 96 Gothenburg

Dr. Darina Martykánová
Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
Departamento de Historia Contemporánea
Facultad de Filosofía y Letras
Campus de Cantoblanco
28049 – Madrid

Dr. Klaus Staubermann                                                
ICOM Germany
In der Halde 1
14159 Berlin